Editors Choice

Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Photo Review

On Friday night Goodnight, Sunrise played the opening slot at Toronto’s Bovine Sex Club. It was everything I imagined and so much more.

It was warm inside and crowded for 9:15. The full room was pushing up against the front of the stage and the energy was palpable. There were plenty of friends and fans up front making it feel super familiar and comfortable.

I was expecting the band to be good, but what I got was great. There was way more intensity in the set than I’d anticipated and I guess the lesson here is to forget expectations and to go into shows with an open mind.

My favourite moment had to be when Goodnight, Sunrise started playing Remember Now. I love the official video but this was a performance at a completely other level.

Thanks so much to the band for the invite, it was truly a pleasure.

Related: Remember Now: Goodnight, Sunrise Video Release

Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto - David Kochberg Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto - Joel Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto - Paul Weaver Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto - Vanessa Vakharia Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto - David Kochberg Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto- Vanessa Vakharia Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto - David Kochberg Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto - David Kochberg Goodnight, Sunrise at The Bovine Sex Club in Toronto

2 days ago

Jess Moskaluke & Friends Christmas at YouTube Space Toronto

Jess Moskaluke brought some friends to Toronto’s YouTube Space to share some music and Christmas spirit, and we were lucky enough to be there as they streamed live across the internet.

Joined by The Lovelocks, Leaving Thomas, David James, and Megan Nash – with Kate Petterson taking care of the hosting duties, and Stefan Guy on guitar – the holiday gathering of songs, stories, jokes, and more was a good time in person, and makes for a great watch on video too!

In just over 90 minutes there were 11 songs to listen to and sing along with at home, and a lot of great interaction and laughs in between.

Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Petterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Leaving Thomas, David James, Stefan Guy, and The Lovelocks

If we had some unofficial awards to give away they’d look something like this…

Best/Worst Dad Jokes: David James

Best (Most Unexpected) Stories: Megan Nash

Best Childhood Nickname Reveal: David James

Best Supporting Harmonies: Leaving Thomas on David James’ Sun Set On It

Best Update Of A Christmas Class: The Lovelocks on Oh Come All Ye Faithful

Best Christmas Food Traditions: Jess Moskaluke

Best Surprise Appearance: SANTA!!!!

Best Reaction To A Gift: Annika of Leaving Thomas

Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Leaving Thomas opening their gift, David James, Stefan Guy and SantaFrom start to finish this was a lot of fun. The time flew by as it was happening live, and on a re-watch, it does too. The stories will make you laugh. Even David James’ dad jokes will give you a chuckle – and because it’s a YouTube video, we would invite everyone to leave comments answering questions like ‘What’s Your Favourite Christmas Movie’.

Now, hit play, watch and listen as Jess Moskaluke, The Lovelocks, Leaving Thomas, David James, and Meghan Nash share their holiday cheer – and sing along. And, before you go, check out the rest of the photos from Jess Moskaluke & Friends Christmas at Youtube Space Toronto – and leave a comment telling us what your favourite part of the video is!

If you’re looking to skip right to the music, use the time marks on the playlist. Enjoy!

Jess Moskaluke & Friends Christmas at YouTube Space Toronto Playlist

1. Jess Moskaluke: Grown Up Christmas List (12:00)

2. David James: Sun Set On It (18:55)

3. Leaving Thomas: Do You Hear What I Hear (25:40)

4. Megan Nash: Salt The Salamanders (31:25)

5. The Lovelocks: Staycation (35:45)

6. Jess Moskaluke: Drive Me Away (42:34)

7. David James: Silent Night (56:00)

8. Leaving Thomas: Blame It On The Neon (1:02:30)

9. Megan Nash: Blue Christmas (1:10:50)

10. The Lovelocks: Oh Come All Ye Faithful (1:16:30)

11. All: Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree (1:29:45)

Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Petterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Leaving Thomas, David James Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Leaving Thomas, David James, Stefan Guy, and The Lovelocks Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Leaving Thomas, David James, Stefan Guy, and The Lovelocks Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Leaving Thomas Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - David James, Stefan Guy, The Lovelocks Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson with underwear on her head Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Stefan Guy and The Lovelocks Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash opening her gift, Leaving Thomas and Santa Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson, Jess Moskaluke opening her gift, Megan Nash, and Santa Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Leaving Thomas, David James, Stefan Guy Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Petterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Bryton Udy of Leaving Thomas Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - David James opening his gift Jess Moskaluke and Friends at YouTube Toronto - Kate Peterson, Jess Moskaluke, Megan Nash, Leaving Thomas, David James, Stefan Guy, and The Lovelocks

2 days ago

5 Quick Questions with Ben Hudson: Holiday Edition and Fancy Spiced Rum & Eggnog Recipe

With the holiday season coming up on us, we’ve been sliding into the spirit with some of our favourite artists. And to help get us a little more excited for gifts and friends and family and holiday music, Ben Hudson has joined the fun.

We caught up with Ben for a quick, holiday edition, round of 5 Quick Questions, and found out his favourite childhood Christmas song, who he’d love to duet with, and how he likes his eggnog.

Note: Congratulations to Ben – he’s been named a winner in the Kick It With Kissel contest and will be opening for Brett Kissel in North Bay, Ontario on February 23, 2018.

Check it out!

5 Quick Holiday Questions with Ben Hudson

Q) Did you have a favourite Christmas songs when you were a kid?

Ben) I’m old enough to remember staying up all night listening to the radio just to hear your favourite song again. I barely slept one Christmas Eve waiting for Bob and Doug McKenzie’s version of Twelve Days of Christmas to come on. By far my favourite Christmas song as a kid.

Q) Do you have a favourite Christmas song to play?

Ben) I don’t yet but I am currently working on some good ones for the upcoming ‘Home for the Holidays’ Christmas Concert with Leah Daniels and Beverley Mahood. Christmas Cookies by George Strait is a lot of fun.

Q) If you could partner up with any artist for a collaboration on a Christmas song, who would you choose?

Ben) Lindi Ortega. It would be a Christmas song with a twist for sure.

Q) What is your favourite beverage for a holiday party?

Ben) Spiced rum and eggnog could be the best thing about the holiday season.

Q) If you could only have 1 dessert after Christmas dinner, what would you choose?

Ben) Spiced rum and eggnog.

eggnog photo from thespruce.com

Ben Hudons’s Fancy Spiced Rum & Eggnog

Ingredients:

2 oz Captain Morgan spiced rum
4 oz eggnog
1 pinch fancy nutmeg

Directions:

1. Pour spiced rum into glass.
2. Add eggnog to spiced rum.
3. Stir and sprinkle with fancy nutmeg

A post shared by Ben Hudson (@benhudsonmusic) on

3 days ago

Country Thunder Music Festival 2018 Preview

With four incredible locations, Country Thunder will be back yet again in 2018, and it will be bigger than ever!

With festivals in Florence, Arizona, Craven, Saskatchewan, Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, and Calgary, Alberta everyone can have the opportunity to put on their cowboy boots, grab a cold one and dance to an amazing lineup all weekend long!

Get ready for some of the biggest names in country music taking over my city, Calgary, during the weekend of August 17th-19th. I thought the lineup last year was incredible but wait for 2018. The summer of 2017 featured Blake Shelton, Brad Paisley, Thomas Rhett, Dallas Smith, and Randy Houser to name a few! Country Thunder’s new 2018 lineup is filled with the most successful and chart topping artists yet; Eric Church, Toby Keith, Dierks Bentley, Dean Brody, Midland, Madeline Merlo, Hunter Brothers, Lindsay Ell, Bryan White and Jess Moskaluke and more!

Dean Brody Tour-EdmontonMay26

One of the artists I am most excited to see is Eric Church! I’ve been really lucky to see him a couple of times, and I must say he’s one of the only artists who gives me goosebumps every time he sings. One of the most memorable moments at Eric’s shows is when he strips it down to a solo acoustic performance; I truly believe this is the kind of live music experience we all crave. His acoustic performances are definitely something for the books! I highly recommend getting your tickets as soon as possible, as Eric will be closing off Country Thunder the finale night.

Another artist I cannot wait to see is recently announced CRS 2018 Artist Humanitarian Award winner Dierks Bentley. Sadly I have never seen Dierks perform, but I have only ever heard wonderful things. I’m a huge fan of Dierks, one of the biggest reasons why I adore his music so much is because of the stories behind his writing. Musically what he always tries to do is create records that reflect who he is, snapshots of his life at the time. I can’t wait to sing along to some of his most popular songs; Somewhere On A Beach, Black, What The Hell Did I Say, and Different For Girls.

Dierks Bentley BH5 Boots and Hearts 2016

‘m looking forward to experiencing the diversity all these artists will bring; from heart filled songs to heart breaks, celebrating the weekend, living and learning, being outdoors with your friends and growing up in a small town, this festival will have all your country needs checked off.

Because the festival is located in the city, there are no camping accommodations, only hotels. But don’t worry!!! Country Thunder has a list of 19 different hotel partners near the festival site that will suit your budget and requirements. Plus, with your festival passes you are welcome to shuttle back and forth for free. Try not to wait too long to purchase tickets to Calgary’s Country Thunder though, as limited tickets are remaining for the full weekend festival.

So grab your sunscreen, cowboy hat, wear your best dancing shoes and get ready to experience everything that Country Thunder has to offer in 2018!

Boots and Hearts 2017 - MidlandJess Moskaluke-Calgary-StampedeMadeline Merlo - Dean Brody Tour-EdmontonLindsay Ell BH5 Boots and Hearts 2016

3 days ago

5 Quick Questions with Caren: Holiday Edition, Horseshoe Tavern Ticket Contest and Baked Brie Recipe

The holidays are coming fast, and no matter what you celebrate and who you celebrate with, it’s time to start getting festive!

To help get you going, Caren has teamed up with us for a holiday edition round of 5 Quick Questions, shared a recipe we can’t wait to try – and she’s helping us give away 2 tickets to the Holiday Bash at The Horseshoe Tavern in Toronto on Tuesday, December 19, 2017!

The Holiday Bash is going to be a whole lot of fun with Jane’s Party, The Kents, The Almighty Rhombus, and Caren rocking on one of the city’s most legendary stages in their 70th birthday year!

Now, get into the holiday spirit with Caren and use the widget in this post to enter for your chance to be at the party!

5 Quick Holiday Questions with Caren

Q) Did you have a favourite Christmas songs when you were a kid?

Caren) Mariah Carey’s All I Want for Christmas all the way. There was something about the build up in the beginning of the song and then all of a sudden how fast paced and up beat the song gets that would get me really excited for Christmas while simultaneously making me super jealous that all I got as a Jewish kid was Adam Sandler’s Hanukkah Song. Growing up I always was amazed and confused by the idea of decorating your house with lights and huge snowmen and Santa, and when I heard that song it just made everything seem really magical and special.

Q) Do you have a favourite Christmas song to play live?

Caren) I actually have a new favourite, Jane’s Party just wrote a really cool Christmas song called Last Train Home This Christmas, and we’ll all be playing it live at our upcoming show at the Horseshoe on December 19! I started listening to it on repeat so I could learn it, but now I’m just addicted so I’ve been listening to it on repeat for fun. It’s coming out soon so everyone can be as obsessed as I am!

Q) If you could partner up with any artist for a collaboration on a Christmas song, who would you choose?

Caren) Mariah 100% She’s the queen of Christmas in my opinion. I’d love to write a song about being the Jewish kid wanting to celebrate Christmas, or feeling left out or lonely on the holidays. I was always lucky as a kid to have friends who would invite me to Christmas dinners, but it does get lonely as an adult on Christmas day when everything is closed and you’re home alone watching Home Alone and eating leftover dessert on the couch in your pjs.

Q) What is your favourite beverage for a holiday party?

Caren) Gin and Tonics with a sprig of rosemary. This is my go to winter drink, and the rosemary makes it look festive in my opinion, plus adds great flavour.

Q) If you could only have 1 dessert after Christmas dinner, what would you choose?

Caren) When I was younger, I’d always have Christmas dinner at my friend’s place, and as two tweens it was our job to make the dessert. Every year we’d make one, ginormous, killer Baked Alaska, because it was 90% ice cream and 10% marshmallow and 100% delicious. That’s what I think of when I think of Christmas dessert, which I realize is weird since it involves eating copious amounts of ice cream in the middle of the Canadian winter.

We also asked Caren if she had a recipe that she wanted to share… and she came through!!!

“I have this baked brie recipe that is a party pleaser, and I get asked to make it for every event or dinner I go to (and it’s super easy to make and very impressive.)”

Caren’s Baked Brie

Ingredients:

1 Brie Wheel
Puff Pastry (I usually go for frozen and defrost it)
2 tbsp Brown sugar
1/3 cup Dried Cranberries
1 Egg
A handful of Sliced Almonds

Directions:

1. Roll out puff pastry and place brie wheel in the centre. Place brown sugar and dried cranberries on top of brie and fold the puff pastry over to completely engulf the sugary cheesy goodness.
2. With a knife, make small holes on the top of the masterpiece. Beat 1 egg and brush on top, and sprinkle sliced almonds on top.
3. Bake in the oven at 350 for 20-25 min. Take it out and let it sit for about an hour (Very Important!!!)
4. Slice and serve, and revel in the never-ending compliments, but never tell anyone how easy it was to make.

 

4 days ago

5 Quick Questions with Uforia: DRIVEWIRE Edition

Uforia are set to take the stage on December 9th as part of SounDrive Records DRIVEWIRE Day 2. The Alt-hard rock Toronto-based band is made up of Michael Ursini on lead vocals and guitar, Adam Brik on lead guitar and vocals, Daniel Salij on bass and vocals and Dylan Piercey on drums.

For the purpose of helping us to hone in on what you can expect, they list Royal Blood, Billy Talent, Our Lady Peace, Tool, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Hendrix, The Mars Volta, Sum 41, Green Day, Rush, Incubus, Floyd, Zeppelin, Boston, The Foo Fighters as influences on their Facebook page and after listening to their music, I can definitely hear those influences and more.

UFORIA is: Songs you wake up the next day humming. Howling guitar duets echoing a lost era. New noises that tear your face off. Killer vocals, killer harmonies. Happy words, sad words. Wild young musicians pounding out a heavy, sometimes-simple, sometimes-complex orchestration of power-rhythms, riffs, beautiful chord changes and melodies – and it feels like a party. (Uforia Facebook)

I don’t know about you, but I’m excited about this performance. Let’s get to the Q&A!

Questions and Answers with Uforia

Q. In 50 words or so, can you tell everyone what to expect from your music and your live show?

A. Songs you wake up the next day humming. New noises that tear your face off. Killer vocals, killer harmonies. Happy words, sad words. Wild young musicians pounding out a heavy, sometimes-simple, sometimes-complex orchestration of power-rhythms, riffs, beautiful chord changes and melodies – and it feels like a party.

Q. Can you tell us about your influences?

A. Our influences come from a variety of heavy, melodic rock, punk & alternative. Bands like Billy Talent, Incubus, Royal Blood, Foo Fighters, Chili Peppers, Sum 41, Green Day, System of a Down… just to name a few. We all love classic rock as well.

Q. Do you have any Pre-show rituals?

A. Before every show, we like to get into a huddle and mouth the first song of our set. Dylan (drummer) will beatbox, Mike (vocals) will sing the lyrics, Dan & Adam will sing their guitar parts.

Each of us have a series of stretches and physical warm-ups as well. Mike likes to take a swig of honey before he sings.

Q. What’s the best advice you’ve ever been given?

A. Keep practicing & don’t let egos get in the way.

Q. How did you hear about DRIVEWIRE?

A. Drivewire found us

 

You can find Uforia all over the internet.

Web / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / YouTube / Spotify

5 days ago
Scroll to top
%d bloggers like this: